7310 Executive Way
Frederick, MD 21704
Phone: (301) 668-4600
Fax: (301) 668-4622
Famous all over as the makers of the award-winning Doggie Style Classic Pale Ale, Flying Dog Brewery is located on the Wedgewood Boulevard, in the outskirts of city Frederick. Initiated by George Stranahan, this state-of-the-art brewery opens its doors for visitors who get a chance to tour the facility and also taste five of the beers from its beer list. The tours are priced at USD5, and people from far of cities visit the brewery to taste some rare and unique craft beers. Make sure you book a tour in advance to avoid disappointment. Adding to the fun during summers are the outdoor concerts that feature local as well as national musicians.
Known for their award-winning Blue Ridge brand of lagers and ales, made using only the finest barley and hops, this brewing company is one of the fastest growing craft breweries in the United States today and it is the largest craft brewer in the mid-Atlantic region. Brewery tours are available every Saturday and weekday group tours are available by appointment. The brewery also hosts a wide variety of events throughout the year.
A historic site during the American Civil War, Monocacy National Battlefield is now a major attraction where visitors are educated about American history through various interactive exhibits and virtual tours. One can also indulge in walking trails and other interesting events conducted here.
Considered one of the most beautiful and distinguished burial grounds in the eastern section of the country, Mount Olivet Cemetery, open from dawn to dusk, contains the graves of Francis Scott Key, Barbara Fritchie, former Governor Thomas Johnson, and over 800 Confederate soldiers.
Originally built to accommodate two battalions of soldiers, these barracks soon became a repository for mercenaries fighting for England. The site is listed with the National and State Registry of Historic Sites and it has been used as a Revolutionary War prison, staging point for Lewis and Clarke expedition, State Armory in 1812, Civil War general hospital, and First Maryland School for the Deaf.
It includes most of the small town called Buckeystown in Maryland. It is said to have been named after brothers George and John Buckey. It houses several beautiful houses built in Queen Anne and Victorian style architecture, built since as early as 1780. The historic houses display a plaque inscribed with the year of building. Currently the town has several businesses including Hedgeapple and other farms, inns, pottery, antique stores, among other commercial stores.
Built on the highest elevation in Frederick City, Red Hill, this historic mansion has hosted many popular visitors. It was the site of General Meade's takeover of the Army of the Potomac immediately before the Battle of Gettysburg. The mansion is now home to St. John's Catholic Prep, Frederick's Roman Catholic high school.
Interprets life in the early 19th century for middling families of the Frederick area, Maryland slavery and the life and property of Roger Brooke Taney, a Frederick lawyer who later served as the fifth Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court. The site, includes the house, detached kitchen, root cellar, smokehouse and slaves
Located at the Carroll Creek Park, the Barbara Fritchie House boasts of historical relevance. Owned by a lady called Barbara Fritchie, the house is rumored with various mysteries in context of its existence. It houses an exhibition of the remains of any form of evidence that talks about its history. However, it can only be accessed with permission as it has been under the debate of permanent closure.
The C. Burr Artz Public Library is part of the Frederick County Public Library system. The Maryland Room, located on the second floor, is a non-circulating, local history research library featuring a collection of primary and secondary sources. Materials collected include documents on Maryland's economic, social, political, cultural, and religious history, the genealogy of Maryland natives, and the Civil War.
This Tourist Information Center is located on East Church Street. Being an encyclopedia on the county, it takes charge of guiding not just tourists but also locals. Whether you want to just get acquainted with the region or are looking for some lodging option, the knowledgeable staff at this office is always ready with information. So come here to find out about the Catoctin Mountain Park, the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, the shopping areas, the restaurants or any other landmarks.
"One of the prettiest courthouse squares in America," this Victorian-style building is surrounded by a courtyard which is the location of what is thought to be the first public uprising against the monarchist rule in 1765, when local citizens assembled and burned effigies regarding the Stamp Act. The courtyard features busts of Maryland's first governor, Thomas Johnson and Supreme Court Justice, Roger B. Taney.